Qartuli Itsi?

August 21, 2010

My Mind Takes Me There.

Filed under: Uncategorized — Gdsgirl @ 2:47 pm

It’s hard to believe in two days I will part with my newly found friends. In many ways I’m sad and elated that we are all embarking on a new adventure. My emotions are some strange mix of delicious anxiety. Anxious to meet my new family and begin a new job. Delicious because I like the word.

Awesome Rhonda fact, I’m learning Georgian. Can I speak Georgian? Ara! Can I read Georgian? Ki! I imagine learning how to read will help me with my journey. I won’t lie, I feel very accomplished right now.

Honestly friends, Georgia (Republic of) isn’t what I expected. There is a life to it that goes beyond the rugged buildings and random street dogs (and cows) . No, there are a people here who love one another and find joy in community. It’s a place for over-comers nearly conquered on every side but refuse to die. This is a place I can get used to (knock on wood). I have a mental list of things I’d like to learn from my wonderful country and hopefully a few things to share.

I must confess I am a little nervous about how I will adjust to my new life. What if my family doesn’t like me? What if I offend them? What if they offend me? What if we don’t like one another on either side and then the dog comes in and sits on the bed now I have to get out because it’s time to go?!!!!!!! Yeah it makes no sense, but that’s how I feel. (sigh) Monday couldn’t come soon enough.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

